Choose the Hoover CleanSlate Pet FH14000V when you want published tank capacities, a single water-and-solution routine, a 15 ft cord, and separate wide, tight-area, and hose-rinse tools. Choose the Shark StainStriker PX201 when its two-formula system, current 3.5-inch reversible tool, 7-inch wide tool, and integrated crevice tool better match the localized upholstery and carpet jobs you repeat.

This comparison is deliberately limited to the current US Hoover FH14000V and Shark PX201. It does not treat the Hoover FH14050/FH14050V, a retailer CleanSlate Plus bundle, Shark PX200-series bundle, HairPro, or cordless StainForce as the same product. Similar family names can hide different tools, formulas, specifications, and warranty support.

Both are corded portable extractors for local cleaning on compatible carpet, rugs, upholstery, stairs, pet beds, and vehicle fabric. Neither replaces an upright machine for whole-room carpet cleaning, and the manufacturers’ separate performance claims do not establish a universal stain-removal winner.

Quick Answer

The Hoover CleanSlate FH14000V has the clearer capacity-and-reach story. Hoover publishes a 40 oz clean-solution tank, 23 oz recovery tank, 15 ft cord, and 4.5 ft hose. The 7-inch WidePath Tool covers a broader localized area, the TightSpot Tool reaches seams and edges, and the Hose Rinse Tool supports cleanup after the job.

The Shark StainStriker PX201 has the more distinctive formula system. Water and CarpetXpert Deep Clean Pro go into one tank, while OXY Multiplier goes into a separate StainStriker tank. Its current manufacturer listing includes a 3.5-inch Reversible Bristle Tool, 7-inch Wide Path Tool, and integrated crevice tool. Shark does not publish matching clean- and dirty-water capacities on the current PX201 product page.

Do not decide from weight or body-size numbers alone. Shark’s current PX201 page contains conflicting weight language and has changed its dimensional data, so this guide does not publish one exact PX201 weight or dimension set. Measure your storage space and verify the live listing rather than using an older retailer specification.

Exact Models Compared: FH14000V vs PX201

DetailHoover CleanSlate Pet FH14000VShark StainStriker PX201
Product rolePortable carpet and upholstery spot cleanerPortable carpet and upholstery spot-and-stain cleaner
Clean-water or solution capacity40 ozNot stated on the current official PX201 page reviewed
Recovery or dirty-water capacity23 ozNot stated on the current official PX201 page reviewed
Power cord15 ft12 ft
Hose4.5 ft4.3 ft
Electrical informationCorded, grounded 120 V applianceCorded, 120 V, 450 W, 3.3 A
Current named tools7-inch WidePath Tool; TightSpot Tool; Hose Rinse Tool3.5-inch Reversible Bristle Tool; 7-inch Wide Path Tool; integrated crevice tool
Supplied formula shown by manufacturerHoover cleaning solution; exact bottle can vary by current listing12 oz OXY Multiplier; 6 oz CarpetXpert Deep Clean Pro
Published warranty2-year limited warranty3-year limited warranty
Exact weight and three-dimensional comparisonCurrent official material reviewed does not support a reliable matched comparisonCurrent product page contains conflicting weight language and changed dimensional data; exact figures are not used here

The missing PX201 tank numbers are not an invitation to substitute figures from a retailer bundle or another StainStriker model. If tank capacity is a deciding factor, confirm the current PX201 values with Shark before buying.

What Actually Differs Between Them?

The largest difference is not a generic claim about suction. It is how you prepare the cleaner, choose a tool, and maintain it afterward.

Hoover uses one clean-solution tank. Its manual gives separate directions for Hoover concentrate mixed with warm water and for ready-to-use premix. The current CleanSlate Pet tool set separates broad local coverage, narrow access, and hose rinsing into three attachments.

Shark uses two formula paths. The main CarpetXpert tank receives water and Deep Clean Pro, while OXY Multiplier goes into the separate StainStriker tank. The formulas combine during use rather than being premixed by the owner. That is a more specialized routine, not proof that it will remove every stain better.

The current Shark box contents also differ from older descriptions. Shark now lists a 7-inch Wide Path Tool alongside the 3.5-inch reversible tool and integrated crevice tool. The PX200-series manual depicts additional accessories, including a Pet Mess Tool and hose-cleaning tool, but it also states that accessories vary by unit. Only treat an accessory as included when it appears on the exact PX201 purchase listing.

Tank and Formula Workflow

Hoover: one tank, marked mixing guidance

Hoover publishes both sides of the water routine: 40 oz for clean solution and 23 oz for recovered water. Its manual gives a small-area 20 oz fill reference and a larger 39 oz water line, with 0.5 oz or 1 oz of Hoover 2X concentrate respectively. A Hoover ready-to-use premix follows its own fill guidance and does not use the concentrate ratio.

That makes the Hoover easier to plan when you want known capacities and one preparation point. It does not remove the need to read the bottle and manual. Do not mix formulas by guesswork, and do not put water hotter than 140 F / 60 C into the machine.

Shark: water plus two purpose-specific formulas

The PX201 system separates the products. The PX200-series owner guide directs the user to add water and CarpetXpert Deep Clean Pro to the CarpetXpert tank, then put OXY Multiplier in the separate StainStriker tank. Use each formula in its designated location and do not exceed the same 140 F / 60 C water limit.

This workflow can appeal to a buyer who wants Shark’s prescribed two-formula process. It also means storing two bottles and keeping the tank roles straight. In a small apartment, that supply footprint belongs in the purchase decision just as much as the cleaner body.

Portable spot-cleaner preparation routines comparing one water-and-solution tank with a separate dual-formula system using two dedicated formula paths.

Wide Stains, Upholstery, and Tight Spaces

Both current models provide wide and narrow working options, but their tool layouts are not identical.

Hoover’s 7-inch WidePath Tool is the practical choice for a larger localized area such as part of a cushion, stair tread, or rug spill. Its separate TightSpot Tool targets seams and edges. The Hose Rinse Tool has a maintenance role rather than adding another cleaning width.

Shark’s current 7-inch Wide Path Tool addresses broader local areas. The 3.5-inch Reversible Bristle Tool gives a smaller working face, and the integrated crevice tool is available for narrow upholstery or vehicle gaps. This current tool set makes the decision less about “wide Hoover versus narrow Shark” than older bundle descriptions suggested.

Portable spot-cleaner tools compared, including wide, tight-area, hose-rinse, reversible bristle, and crevice attachments beside upholstery, stair, rug, and vehicle fabric samples.

Recurring taskMore relevant feature
You want published capacities and a broad tool plus a separate tight-area attachmentHoover FH14000V
You prefer a smaller reversible tool plus a current 7-inch option and integrated crevice accessShark PX201
You want a clearly listed dedicated hose-rinse attachment in the current boxHoover FH14000V
You specifically want Shark’s two-formula delivery systemShark PX201
You need to clean an entire carpeted roomNeither

Remove loose hair, crumbs, and solids with a dry vacuum before using either extractor. A wet spot cleaner is not a substitute for dry debris pickup.

Cord, Hose, and Apartment Working Space

Hoover lists a 15 ft cord and 4.5 ft hose. Shark lists a 12 ft cord and 4.3 ft hose. Hoover therefore provides three more feet of published cord reach and a small hose advantage, which can matter around a sectional sofa, stair landing, or parked vehicle.

Reach figures do not make poor routing safe. Place the base on a stable, level surface, keep electrical connections away from wet areas, and avoid running a cord through a doorway or walking path. The Hoover manual specifies a grounded 120 V connection. Follow the exact electrical instructions for either machine rather than assuming an extension cord is acceptable.

Storage requires more than a body footprint. Reserve room for the coiled hose, cord, tools, formula bottles, and parts that need to air-dry. Because Shark’s live PX201 page currently presents inconsistent physical data, measure the available shelf or cabinet and confirm the dimensions on the exact listing before ordering.

Maintenance After Every Cleaning Session

The Hoover and Shark both need immediate cleanup. Leaving recovered water or formula in a closed apartment cabinet can create odor and residue problems regardless of which machine you buy.

For the Hoover, empty and rinse the recovery tank, rinse the tools, and let the parts air-dry. Hoover’s manual directs the user to put warm water to the small-area line, attach the Hose Rinse Tool, and hold the trigger for about 30 seconds to flush the hose. Do not store solution in either tank.

For the Shark, empty the dirty-water tank when the float closes, rinse the float valve and foam filter, and let the filter dry completely. The owner guide also covers clearing the hose access door and using the series hose-cleaning tool when it is included with the exact unit. Lay cleaned attachments out to dry and store the machine in a dry, nonfreezing location.

Adult renter emptying tanks, flushing one portable cleaner hose with a dedicated rinse tool, drying upholstery tools, organizing formulas, and preparing components for apartment storage.

Check upholstery before wet cleaning. Hoover permits water-cleanable W and S/W fabrics and warns against solvent-only S fabric; a hidden colorfastness test is still sensible. Shark likewise expects the owner to follow the surface manufacturer’s care guidance. Neither cleaner makes an unknown or dry-clean-only fabric safe.

Warranty and Replacement Considerations

Hoover publishes a two-year limited warranty for household use. Shark publishes a three-year limited warranty for the PX201. Both warranties are conditional rather than blanket promises: original ownership, an authorized seller, proof of purchase, household use, and the written exclusions matter.

Warranty length should not outweigh the daily workflow, but support access matters. Before buying, confirm that replacement tools, formula, and model-specific support are available for the exact SKU in your cart. A retailer bundle with a similar family name can have different accessories even when the base machine looks familiar.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose the Hoover CleanSlate FH14000V when

  • You want official 40 oz clean and 23 oz recovery capacities before buying.
  • A 15 ft cord and 4.5 ft hose better fit your sofa, stairs, or vehicle routine.
  • You prefer one solution tank with documented concentrate or premix directions.
  • The current 7-inch WidePath, TightSpot, and Hose Rinse tools all have clear jobs in your home.

Choose the Shark StainStriker PX201 when

  • You specifically want Shark’s separate Deep Clean Pro and OXY Multiplier formula system.
  • The current 3.5-inch reversible, 7-inch wide, and integrated crevice tools match your upholstery and carpet jobs.
  • A 12 ft cord and 4.3 ft hose are sufficient for the places you will clean.
  • You are comfortable verifying live dimensions, weight, and exact accessories because the current product information is not fully consistent.

For a broader shortlist across brands and storage roles, use our guide to the best portable spot cleaners for small apartments. If Hoover is being compared with Bissell instead, read Bissell Little Green vs Hoover CleanSlate Pet. For Shark against a steam-capable Bissell, see Bissell Little Green HydroSteam vs Shark StainStriker. For recurring pet cleanup, compare Shark StainStriker vs Bissell Little Green Max Pet.

Model and Bundle FAQ

Is the Hoover FH14050 the same as the FH14000V?

Do not assume so. FH14050/FH14050V appears in CleanSlate Plus and retailer-specific material, and compatible parts can overlap, but this comparison covers the current Hoover-direct FH14000V listing. Use the model label on the machine and the exact seller’s box-contents list.

Does every Shark PX200-series cleaner include a Pet Tool?

No. The series manual shows accessories that vary by unit. Shark’s current PX201 product page lists the 3.5-inch Reversible Bristle Tool, 7-inch Wide Path Tool, and integrated crevice tool; it does not list a Pet Tool in the current standard box contents.

Which cleaner has the larger tanks?

Hoover publishes 40 oz clean and 23 oz recovery capacities. Shark’s current PX201 page does not publish matching capacity figures, so a reliable numeric tank comparison cannot be made from the current official product pages.

Is the Shark lighter than the Hoover?

The current official pages do not support a reliable matched answer. Shark’s PX201 page contains conflicting weight information, while Hoover’s current CleanSlate page does not provide a directly comparable verified machine weight in the material used here. Choose based on the workflow and measure storage rather than relying on an old retailer number.

Can either cleaner handle wall-to-wall carpet?

Not as a whole-room replacement. These are portable spot cleaners for localized compatible surfaces. Use an upright extractor or professional service when the job is an entire carpeted room.

Bottom Line

The Hoover CleanSlate Pet FH14000V is the more transparent choice for buyers who value published tank capacities, longer cord reach, one-tank solution preparation, and a dedicated hose-rinse attachment. The Shark StainStriker PX201 is the more distinctive choice when its two-formula system and current combination of reversible, wide, and integrated crevice tools fit the cleaning routine.

Neither wins every stain or every apartment. Confirm the exact model, current box contents, compatible formula, and storage space before ordering, then follow the surface-care and maintenance instructions every time you use it.

Official Sources