The Shark StainStriker PX201 and Bissell Little Green Max Pet 3860 are corded portable cleaners for local messes on compatible carpet, rugs, upholstery, pet beds, and vehicle fabric. Neither is a whole-room carpet cleaner. The useful choice is between Shark’s dual-formula, tool-led spot-cleaning system and Bissell’s separately specified 32 oz clean- and dirty-water tanks, longer listed reach, and self-cleaning tool.
This comparison is limited to the US PX201 and 3860. It does not treat Shark’s PX200C, PX202/PX203 retailer bundles, StainStriker HairPro, Bissell Little Green Pet Pro, HydroSteam, SmartMix, or a retailer bundle as the same machine. Similar names can hide different accessories, specifications, formulas, and support material.
Neither product guarantees that an old stain, odor, or discoloration will disappear. Surface care instructions, stain age, the approved formula, and post-cleaning drying conditions still matter.
Quick Answer
Choose the Bissell Little Green Max Pet 3860 when the published 32 oz clean-water and 32 oz dirty-water tanks, 15 ft cord, 4.8 ft hose, Self-Cleaning Tough Stain Tool, and Specialized Pet Hair Removal Tool suit longer local cleaning sessions. Its 8.2 lb listed weight is also slightly lower than Shark’s listed 8.51 lb.
Choose the Shark StainStriker PX201 when the task is usually a smaller upholstery, rug, pet-bed, or vehicle-fabric job where a 3.5 in Reversible Bristle Tool, Pet Tool, and integrated crevice tool are more useful than a larger specified water routine. Shark’s system uses its two supplied formulas without the user pre-mixing them.
Do not choose between them based on a generic claim that one has stronger suction or cleans better. Both brands use their own test and marketing language. The practical purchase decision is the water, formula, tool, reach, and cleanup routine you will actually repeat.
Exact Models and Official Specifications
| Detail | Bissell Little Green Max Pet 3860 | Shark StainStriker PX201 |
|---|---|---|
| Official product role | Portable carpet and upholstery cleaner for pet messes | Portable carpet and upholstery spot-and-stain cleaner |
| Published weight | 8.2 lb | 8.51 lb |
| Published dimensions | Current official product page does not list a matching length, width, and height figure | 12.83 x 11.57 x 15.0 in (L x W x H) |
| Clean-water tank | 32 oz | Current official product page does not state an exact capacity |
| Dirty-water tank | 32 oz | Current official product page does not state an exact capacity |
| Power cord | 15 ft | 12 ft |
| Hose | 4.8 ft | 4.3 ft |
| Power information | Corded | Corded, 120 V, 450 W |
| Included tools and formula called out on current product pages | Self-Cleaning Tough Stain Tool; Specialized Pet Hair Removal Tool; 8 oz PET PRO OXY trial formula | 3.5 in Reversible Bristle Tool; Pet Tool; integrated crevice tool; 12 oz OXY Multiplier formula; 6 oz CarpetXpert Deep Clean Pro formula |
| Warranty shown by the manufacturers | 3-year limited warranty | 3-year limited warranty |
Exact box contents, colors, formulas, and retailer bundles change. Confirm the model number and included accessories on the page where you buy. In particular, do not use a HairPro, PX200C, or retail-bundle accessory list to describe the PX201.
What Actually Differs in the Cleaning Routine
Bissell 3860: a specified two-tank routine with self-cleaning support
Bissell separately lists the Max Pet’s 32 oz clean-water tank and 32 oz dirty-water tank. That gives a buyer a concrete water-handling picture before a longer session across a rug, couch cushions, pet bed, or vehicle upholstery. It does not mean the machine should be filled and left dirty after use.
Bissell’s getting-started guidance directs the owner to fill the clean tank with warm, not boiling, water to the fill line, add formula to its formula line, and empty then rinse the dirty tank after cleaning. Its Self-Cleaning Tough Stain Tool is designed to flush the hose and tool after use. That is useful when recurring pet cleanup makes dried residue or leftover hair a realistic storage concern.
The Max Pet’s listed 15 ft cord and 4.8 ft hose offer more reach than the PX201 on paper. Measure the path from a suitable grounded outlet to the actual sofa, rug, or car-cleaning position. Extra reach is not a reason to route a cord through a wet path or use an extension cord that the owner guide does not permit.
Shark PX201: two supplied formulas and tool-first local cleanup
The PX201’s defining workflow is Shark’s StainStriker system: its CarpetXpert Deep Clean Pro formula and OXY Multiplier formula are supplied separately and activate in the machine, so the user does not pre-mix them. That is a different routine from filling one water-and-formula tank to marked lines.
Its included tool set is the clearer reason to choose it for some homes. The 3.5 in Reversible Bristle Tool is for localized soft-surface work, the Pet Tool is aimed at pet-related messes, and the integrated crevice tool is relevant when the problem is a cushion seam, stair edge, vehicle gap, or another area that a broad head cannot reach well.
Shark’s current PX201 product page does not publish exact clean- or dirty-water tank capacities. This guide does not fill that gap with retailer measurements or a number copied from a different StainStriker variant. If the number of refills or tank capacity determines the purchase, confirm it directly with Shark before ordering.

Choose by the Job You Repeat
| Your usual job | Better fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Several compatible local areas in one session, with fewer planned water interruptions | Bissell 3860 | Its separate 32 oz clean- and dirty-water capacities give a known water routine, with a 15 ft cord and 4.8 ft hose. |
| Pet hair, a small rug spot, upholstery edge, or a narrow vehicle/cushion gap | Shark PX201 | The Pet Tool, Reversible Bristle Tool, and integrated crevice tool make the local tool choice more explicit. |
| You want a machine that includes a one-touch hose-and-tool cleanout feature | Bissell 3860 | The Self-Cleaning Tough Stain Tool is called out on Bissell’s current product page. |
| You prefer the supplied dual-formula system and do not want to pre-mix it yourself | Shark PX201 | Shark describes its two formula system as activating inside the cleaner. |
| You need a whole-room carpet cleaner | Neither | These are portable cleaners for local compatible-surface messes, not replacements for an upright deep cleaner. |

For a Bissell-only choice between the Max Pet and a model with a spraying crevice attachment, see Bissell Little Green Max Pet vs. Pet Pro. If you are deciding whether steam changes the purchase, compare Bissell Little Green HydroSteam vs. Shark StainStriker.
Storage and Maintenance Before You Buy
The difference between 8.2 lb and 8.51 lb is minor. Storage is not just carry weight: it includes the base, hose, cord, tools, formulas, and a ventilated place for cleaned components to dry. Shark publishes the PX201 body dimensions; Bissell does not currently publish a matching three-dimensional figure for the 3860. Measure your shelf or cabinet with the full kit in mind instead of estimating from product photos.
Both machines create a post-cleaning task. Empty recovered water, follow the applicable owner guidance for rinsing or cleaning components, and let parts dry before closed-cabinet storage. Remove loose hair, solids, and dry debris first. Do not use either machine as a dry vacuum, and test a hidden area or follow the care tag before wet-cleaning upholstery.

For a wider product shortlist by water capacity, tools, hose reach, and storage role, see the best portable spot cleaners for small apartments.
FAQ
Does the Bissell 3860 have a larger published water routine than the Shark PX201?
Bissell lists separate 32 oz clean- and 32 oz dirty-water capacities for the 3860. Shark’s current official PX201 page does not provide exact clean- and dirty-tank capacities, so a numeric side-by-side water-capacity comparison is not supported by the current official pages reviewed for this guide.
Is the Shark PX201 lighter than the Bissell 3860?
No meaningful carry-weight advantage is published: Shark lists the PX201 at 8.51 lb, while Bissell lists the 3860 at 8.2 lb. Tool storage, hose, cord, formula bottles, and drying space are likely to matter more than that difference.
Can either cleaner handle an entire carpeted room?
No. Both are portable cleaners intended for local spots and compatible fabric surfaces. A whole-room carpet job needs a different appliance category or professional service.
Are the Shark and Bissell cleaning formulas interchangeable?
Do not assume so. Shark describes a specific two-formula StainStriker system, while Bissell gives separate water and formula fill guidance for the 3860. Follow the exact product’s current owner material and formula instructions.
Bottom Line
Choose the Bissell Little Green Max Pet 3860 when a defined 32 oz plus 32 oz tank routine, longer listed cord and hose, and a self-cleaning tool match recurring pet cleanup. Choose the Shark StainStriker PX201 when the supplied dual-formula system, pet and bristle tools, and integrated crevice access fit mostly smaller, tool-specific upholstery or fabric jobs.
Neither choice is a universal stain cure or a whole-room carpet cleaner. Confirm the exact model, current box contents, formula, and warranty on the live manufacturer or retailer listing before purchasing.